If You Like Kristan Higgins, You’ll Like…

Hey, BCBers! I’m doing a little chair dance (chair, people, NOT pole) today because we have Tracy Brogan, author of Crazy Little Thing and The Best Medicine, here to chat with us about some other great authors. If you like fun and funny (and I know you do or you wouldn’t be hanging around Brain Candy), you must check out Tracy’s work if you haven’t already.

Welcome, Tracy!

catch of the dayI’ve never met a Kristan Higgins book I didn’t like, and I’m certainly not alone. In fact, I suspect that if you stacked the number of books she’s sold to her adoring fans, the pile would reach about halfway to the moon – but it would be a very tippy, unstable pile so I don’t recommend trying it. Instead, I recommend you just get a copy of each of her wonderful books for your own personal reading pleasure. My first Higgins book was CATCH OF THE DAY. It made me laugh – a lot – and cry, just enough. And oh, that brooding hero Malone is still one of my favorites. But her other books have equally yummy heroes, and also have heroines that you can both relate to, and want to be best friends with.

Now, if you’re read, or re-read, all of her books, and are looking for something comparable, something that will make you smile, sigh, tear up a bit, and feel your heart thumping with all the adrenaline that true love triggers, I have a few suggestions. Listed in no particular order (because, like my own children, I love them all equally depending on what kind of a mood I’m in) here are some of my favorite fun, funny, and delicious contemporary romances:

SWEET TALK MEkieran's book by Kieran Kramer. With a proven track record for producing adorably engaging historical romance, this book proves that Kramer is equally adept at creating wonderfully complex, modern characters with loads of quirky southern charm.  True Maybank is just the kind of heroine you want to cheer for as she struggles with following her head, or trusting her heart when an old boyfriend, now a big-shot country western singer, shows up in town on the eve of her wedding to another man. The story is as rich as pecan pie, and just as sweet, delicious and satisfying. I loved this book, and can’t wait for her next one! YOU’RE SO FINE releases in December, 2014.

turn up the heatKimberly Kincaid writes stories that split the difference between sexy and sweet, taking the traditional idea of boy-meets-girl and infusing a sassy magic all her own. She believes in fiery yet flawed characters destined for a crash-course in falling in love– usually the hard way– and injects her trademark humor as well as poignant touches that leave readers satisfied, yet still hungry for more! Her debut novel, TURN UP THE HEAT is the first in her Pine Mountain series, followed by GIMME SOME SUGAR and STIRRING UP TROUBLE. It’s more fun to read them in order but each book is a stand-alone so readers can jump in anywhere! Never one to rest on her laurels, (or to rest in general from what I can tell!) Kincaid has also released a series of novellas, starting with LOVE ON THE LINE, in which one sizzling hot cop meets a sweet, sexy chef, providing all the right ingredients for pure romance. Just don’t read hungry.

thrownIn THROWN, newcomer Colette Auclair provides a fresh and original story with unique equestrian influence. But you don’t have to be a rider, or even a horse lover to fall in love with these characters. Professional horse trainer Amanda Vogel dreams of riding in the Olympics, but an accident has left her shaken and unable to compete. Instead, Amanda takes a short-term job teaching some big-shot movie star’s spoiled daughters to ride. She’s certain this will be three miserable months, but the movie star is funny, down-to-earth, and gorgeous, and his spoiled daughters turn out to be anything but. As her emotional wounds heal and this assignment comes to end, the heroine finds herself forced to choose between returning to her dreams of Olympic glory, or staying with the man and family who have captured her heart. The 2nd book in her Aspen Valley series, JUMPED, releases in August.

09 office head shotTBM BEST COVER FINALTracy Brogan writes fun and funny stories about ordinary people finding extraordinary romance, and also lush historical romance full of damsels causing distress. She’s a 2013 RWA® RITA nominee for Best First Book, a two-time winner of the Golden Quill award, and also a winner of the Booksellers Best award. Her latest book, THE BEST MEDICINE, has been #1 in humor on the Amazon bestsellers list, and her next book, LOVE ME SWEET, comes out in February, 2015.

Share with your friends!

Comments

  1. Delene Yochum says

    No secret here I’m a big fan of Kristan Higgins! In fact we are from the same area in Connecticut. Fan of Tracy Brogran <3 her books!. I've read Kimberly Kincaid and a member of her Street Team! I'll definitely check out Colette Auclair!

    • says

      Delene – I didn’t know that about your being from CT (or if I did, I’ve slept since then ;-) ). Colette is new to me as well. And I’ve been meaning to read Kieran Kramer for a while now. This is the push I needed!

      K-

  2. Joan V. says

    I love a contemporary romance with humor and sass. Kristan and Kimberly are no strangers to me and my reading addiction but the others are new to me. I will have to go check them out. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

CommentLuv badge